Taking my leave

Well, I’m now officially on maternity leave.  On the one hand, I’m very relieved because I’ve been so tired that concentrating on work was getting challenging.  On the other, I love my job, and it’s hard to imagine twelve weeks out of the office.  I hope I’ll be able to stay in the loop at least a little bit, so December doesn’t catch me completely off-guard, but that will depend on what kind of baby we end up with.  I’m very lucky that everyone at the library has been supportive and helpful, but it’s hard not to feel guilty about taking time off.  Oh well, experienced friends have told me there’s really no ideal way to be a working mom, so I guess all I can do is hope to strike a balance that lets me be a pretty good mom and a pretty good librarian.  (Hmm, that sounds kind of like the Lake Wobegon model of working motherhood.  Since I grew up in the part of the world that inspired Garrison Keillor’s “fictional” town, I guess that’s appropriate!)

Tags:

One Response to “Taking my leave”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Enjoy the time off and do not feel guilty. Work will be fine without you and you will soon have a whole new job to do and a brand new boss. Sleep in late and take lots of naps!

Leave a comment